Water Lane Primary Academy

"Enrichment for life"


The National Curriculum

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary school so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject by the end of a year as well as by the end of a Stage of their education.


Primary Curriculum


Early Years Stage:  

This includes Nursery (age 2 to 4 years) and Reception children (age 4 to 5 years)

Key Stage 1:

These are children in Year 1 (age 5 to 6 years) and Year 2 (age 6 to 7 years)

Key Stage 2:

These are children in Year 3 (age 7 to 8 years), Year 4 (age 8 to 9 years), Year 5 (age 9 to 10 years) and Year 6 (age 10 to 11 years)


Key End-of-Year Learning Objectives

Every subject has specific end of year learning objectives which we would like every child to achieve. We are all different and we understand that although the objectives provide a solid base for learning in the next academic year, sometimes children may take longer than others to secure them. Water Lane Primary Academy provides numerous intervention programs and strategies to narrow and close learning gaps. If children achieve the learning objectives in advance of completing a year the focus is on mastering skills and knowledge by providing sufficient challenge and opportunities to explore depth of understanding.



Curriculum celebrations - see class pages