Home Page

Governance Information

Water Lane and Pemberley Governors' section. 


Governors at Water Lane and Pemberley aim to ensure that our children experience a secure, safe and stimulating environment providing the full breadth of the National Curriculum – with emphasis on English, mathematics, science and computing – where all are excited about learning and all learning activities encourage positive models of enquiry, reflection, innovation and challenge.


We nurture and support children of all abilities, helping each to achieve her/his potential in all aspects of learning and physical, social, emotional, moral and spiritual development. From this foundation we encourage staff to share success and equip children to become independent, creative thinkers and learners for life and to develop the resilience to face the challenges of an ever-changing world.


We recognise and value the diversity of our school family and the uniqueness of each of its members. We ensure excellence in teaching and learning through teamwork, support, collaboration and effective leadership.


We promote inclusion, creativity and enthusiasm. We promote British values – including tolerance, cooperation, trust and respect – within the school and the wider community.

The school has a long, rich history and we actively encourage community involvement wherever possible. We achieve the best we can for our children by using the strength of partnership working with parents and others.


Governors at Water Lane and Pemberley Academies keep our vision at the heart of all that we do, including setting the school’s policies and our School Development Plan.


Our Local Governing Body at Water Lane and Pemberley consists of 12 individuals who collectively help to oversee the strategic direction and management of our two schools.


Governing a school means giving much time, energy and enthusiasm in supporting our school and helping to shape the stimulating environment it is today.


Clerk To Governors

Mrs Jayne Cootes (Essex Governor Services)

REAch2 Trust Governors


Mrs Gill Ellyard - Regional Director


Parent Governors

Mr Iain Macleod - Chair of Governors (Pemberley Academy) Link Governor for Safeguarding

Mr Barry Muldoon - Water Lane Parent Governor


Community Governors


Mr Mark Scholtes - Vice Chair & Community rep, Link Governor for Assessment & Curriculum

Mrs Rose Ann Pacheco - Community rep, Link Governor for Health & Safety and Finance

Mr Dom Turner - Community representative, Link Governor for SEN & Inclusion

Mrs Deb Newman - Community representative, Link Governor for EYFS


School Governors


Ms Sarah Rees - Executive Headteacher Water Lane and Pemberley Academy

Mrs Charmaine Ward - Head of School Water Lane Academy (non-voting)

Mr Neil Coster - Head of School Pemberley Academy (non-voting)

Mrs Nadine Swift - Pemberley Staff Governor

Ms Kate Savage - Water Lane Staff Governor


Register of LGB Pecuniary Interests




For further information on governance please refer to the governance section of the REAch2 website: